Monday, July 6, 2015

Music in the Stacks

Libraries are often thought of as sacred spaces where the insistent melodies of unanswered cell phones attract frowns. Would we actually invite music into the building, and have it performed mid-afternoon in the center of our reading area?

YES, when the Evergreen String Quartet is in town!  On Thursday, July 9 from 2-3 p.m., the quartet will perform a selection of classical and popular music, discuss their instruments, and take questions from the audience, thanks to generous sponsorship by the Newport Library Foundation.

The quartet members, Lucia Atkinson, Emily Cole, Hannah Pressley, and Rose Hashimoto are professional musicians who grew up in the Pacific Northwest.

Lucia Atkinson
Lucia Atkinson is a violinist based in the Portland Metro area. She is currently a tenured member of the Portland Opera, a regular sub in the Oregon Symphony, and a freelance violinist with many other local orchestras and chamber music groups.

Emily Cole
Emily Cole, also a violinist, has been a member of the Oregon Symphony since 2011, and currently serves on the faculty of Lewis & Clark College. She has held concertmaster and principal positions at the National Orchestral Institute and at the International Festival-Institute at Round Top.

Hannah Pressley
Cellist Hannah Pressley of Charleston, West Virginia, is a member of the West Virginia Symphony Orchestra and an Artist-in-Residence for String Education, teaching in local public schools. A lover of the outdoors, Hannah regularly performs string quartets at the bottom of the Grand Canyon on rafting trips with Canyon Explorations.

Rose Hashimoto
Rose Hashimoto is a violist, who currently lives in New York City. Rose has performed in major venues in eight different countries, as well as on the air on WQXR radio and PBS’ Live from Lincoln Center.

After the concert, the Library Foundation invites the community to browse through the library and view the many changes made in response to last year’s strategic planning sessions.

No comments:

Post a Comment